Protect Your Rights Against Domestic Violence Charges

Domestic violence, sometimes called domestic assault, involves violence against someone with whom the perpetrator is currently living, has previously lived or has had a dating relationship. This includes boyfriends and girlfriends, spouses and even roommates.

I am domestic violence defense lawyer David G. Moore, a former criminal prosecutor with more than 10 years of experience in Southwest Michigan. You can count on my law firm to provide knowledgeable and aggressive defense against the serious charges you face.

Facts can get muddied, and someone acting in self-defense may be wrongly accused of domestic violence. This frequently happens when a revengeful girlfriend or boyfriend calls the police and claims to have been hit or abused just to get the other person arrested.

When A Caring Couple's Argument Simply Gets Out Of Hand

As an attorney, I represent countless good, loving men (and some women) who are simply under stress due to finances or who get into an argument about the children, and before they know it, push leads to shove and a domestic violence charge.

I understand that this situation is likely out of the ordinary for you and you're not a violent person at heart. That's why I want to use my legal skills and knowledge help protect you from a criminal record and preserve your future, including preserving your right to possess a firearm. When your relationships, reputation and rights are on the line, let me fight for you.

Penalties For Domestic Violence In Michigan

Even if your original accuser wants to drop the charges against you, he or she cannot make that decision. Only the prosecutor can decide whether or not to dismiss the charges. If you are convicted, you will face the following penalties:

  • First offense: This is a misdemeanor and carries up to 93 days of jail time and/or $500 in fines.
  • Second offense: This is a misdemeanor and carries up to one year of jail time and/or $1,000 in fines.
  • Third offense: This is a felony and carries up to two years of prison time and up to $2,500 in fines.
  • Aggravated domestic assault: Inflicting serious injury without the use of a weapon is considered aggravated domestic assault. A first offense carries up to one year of jail time and/or $1,000 in fines.

Contact a Criminal Defense Lawyer for a Free Initial Consultation

To arrange a free, completely confidential consultation, call my Portage office at 269-216-4573 or 888-527-6768 (toll free). You can also contact me online and I will respond within 24 hours.