Carrying A Concealed Weapon In Michigan

Were you arrested because the knife in your backpack had a blade 4 inches long instead of 3? Were you charged with a weapons offense because you were transporting a gun in your car without a permit? While such seemingly innocent actions are perfectly legal in many states, Michigan imposes strict penalties. That's why it is important to engage the help of a skilled defense lawyer right away if you or someone you know has been arrested.

I am David G. Moore, a criminal defense attorney who has handled numerous cases involving carrying a concealed weapon (CCW) in Southwest Michigan. I have more than 10 years of experience defending the rights and freedoms of people just like you. Contact me day or night for a no-cost, no-obligation consultation.

Michigan Statutes With Regard To Carrying Concealed Weapons

Michigan state law (MCL 750.226 and 750.227) prohibits individuals from:

  • Carrying a firearm or other dangerous weapon (e.g., a pistol or a knife with a blade more than 3 inches long) with the intent to use it against another person in an unlawful manner
  • Carrying a double-edged, non-folding knife or other dangerous stabbing instrument (with the exception of some hunting knives) that is carried concealed on a person's body or in his or her vehicle
  • Carrying a pistol without a valid license or permit (except on his or her own property), or carrying it in a place and manner that violate the license restrictions

Penalties for these weapons offenses can include up to 5 years incarceration in state prison and up to $2,500 in fines.

Contact a Criminal Defense Lawyer Defending Against Weapons Charges

To arrange a free, completely confidential consultation about the CCW charges against you, call my Portage office at 269-216-4573 or 888-527-6768 (toll free). You can also contact me online and I will respond within 24 hours.