When someone is charged in Michigan with drug possession, they face potentially very serious consequences. The Michigan legislature has outlined penalties for possession of drugs, with the penalties ranging depending on the amount and the drug classification.
The law states that people who are found in possession of a schedule 1 or schedule 2 drug in an amount over 1,000 grams can face up to lifetime imprisonment and a fine of $1,000,000. People caught with between 450 grams and 1,000 grams face up to 30 years in prison and a fine of $500,000.
Possessing between 50 grams and 450 grams can result in a sentence of 20 years and a fine of $250,000, while 25 to 50 grams can bring four years in prison and a $25,000 fine. Less than 25 grams of possession can also bring four years in prison and a fine of $25,000. Possession of such drugs as ecstasy, MDMA or methamphetamine can result in 10 years in prison and a fine of $15,000. Such drugs as LSD, marijuana and psilocybin can result in one year in jail and a fine of $2,000, while prescription drugs that were not validly obtained can bring one year and a fine of $1,000.
A conviction for drug charges in Michigan normally results in a felony, other than for LSD, marijuana, psilocybin or illegally-obtained prescription drugs, which are all misdemeanors. People who have a felony conviction on their records face other potential long-term consequences besides prison, including difficulty accessing housing, jobs and other things. Those who have been charged with drug possession are advised to consult with a criminal defense attorney.
Source: Michigan Legislative , “333.7403 Knowingly or intentionally possessing controlled substance, controlled substance analogue, or prescription form; violations; penalties; discharge from lifetime probation.“, October 22, 2014