The potential penalties for possessing or selling marijuana in Michigan vary depending on the amount of marijuana possessed or cultivated as well as the location in which a person has been charged with possessing it. The penalties for possession or sale of marijuana range from misdemeanor-level to felony offenses.
The penalty for possessing any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor offense with a maximum possible imprisonment of up to one year and a fine of up to $1,000. However, if a person possesses any amount of marijuana in a park, the court may choose whether to classify the offense as a misdemeanor or felony, and the potential penalties double to two years of imprisonment and up to $2,000 in fines.
Simply using marijuana carries a maximum penalty of up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $100. Growing marijuana or selling it is more problematic for those who are convicted. Cultivation offenses are all felonies, as are sales for which people receive remuneration. People convicted of cultivating fewer than 20 plants or selling less than five kilograms face up to four years imprisonment and a fine of $20,000. Cultivating between 20 to 200 plants or selling between five and 45 kilograms brings a maximum of seven years of incarceration and a $500,000 fine. When people are caught with more than 200 plants or are convicted of selling more than 45 kilograms, they face a maximum of 15 years and a fine up to $10,000,000. Even selling marijuana without receiving anything in return is a misdemeanor offense in the state.
Potential Michigan penalties for possession of marijuana or its sale are severe. People who are charged with such an offense may benefit from speaking with a criminal defense attorney.
Source: NORML, “Michigan Laws & Penalties“, October 05, 2014