Being charged with a drug crime is a serious matter. Mere accusations could significantly damage an individual’s reputation, and a conviction could lead to prison, fines, and a lifelong criminal record that could forever leave one struggling to find adequate work and living arrangements. Yet, as if all of that is not enough, the state of Michigan also imposes penalties on one’s driving privileges when they are convicted of a drug crime.
Under Michigan law, an individual’s driver’s license will be suspended upon conviction of a drug offense. This holds true even if the offense was not driving-related. For a first-time offender, the suspension will last six months, and there is no possibility for a restricted license for the first 30 days. If an individual has two or more drug convictions within a seven year period, then the suspension will last for a whole year. In these instances, the individual cannot receive a restricted license until 60 days have passed. Then, after these periods of suspension are over, the individual has to pay a reinstatement fee.
As it is easy to see, those who are convicted of drug crimes have a difficult road ahead of them. This is why, when facing criminal charges, an individual needs to fight aggressively. When fighting allegations of wrongdoing, a defendant must know their legal rights and how best to act on them. This is where the assistance of an attorney may prove beneficial.
An experienced attorney can help Michigan residents facing drug crime allegations stand up to zealous prosecutors. A criminal defense attorney may be able to negotiate for lesser charges for less significant penalties, or, if the defendant so chooses, the matter can be taken to trial where the attorney will fight for an acquittal. In the end, there is just too much at risk to forgo putting forth the best defense possible, which is why those facing criminal charges should fully consider their legal options.
Source: michigan.gov, “Anti-drug Laws,” accessed on Dec. 4, 2015