David G. Moore Attorney At Law
Former DA Prosecutor Now Fights for Your Rights
Free Consultations: 269-216-4573 |888-527-6768
(Kalamazoo and Southwest Michigan)

March 2017 Archives

Charges based on violent crimes can be severely punished


All criminal charges are serious, but those based on the alleged commission of violent crimes can be punished with significant penalties that may deprive Kalamazoo residents of their freedom and rights. Particularly, crimes, such as rape, homicide and aggravated assault can be met with sanctions, such as extensive prison sentences and the possibly of those convicted never being paroled.

What defenses are available to assault and battery charges?


Assault and battery charges stem from unwanted physical contact between individuals. Generally, the individual who initiates the contact against another will be charged with assault and battery, though the charges may apply to all parties involved depending upon the facts of the incident. In Michigan, there are a variety of defenses that a person may be able to apply if facing these serious criminal charges.

Business owner accused of numerous sex crimes


Convictions on sex crimes in Michigan can carry with them very serious consequences and losses of rights for those who have been accused of committing such wrongdoing. Last week's post on this Kalamazoo criminal defense legal blog touched on some of the ways a person charged with sexual assault may offer defenses to the pending legal allegation; this week's post will introduce a news story that involves a local business owner facing sex crime charges of his own.

What defenses are available if facing sexual assault charges?


As recently discussed on this Michigan criminal defense law blog, a person can face significant legal penalties if they are convicted of a sexual assault crime. In Kalamazoo and the rest of the state, a person may face these serious charges if they are accused of having unwanted sexual contact with an alleged victim or procuring sexual contact through force, coercion or another manipulative tactic.

What are the penalties for a home invasion conviction?


In Michigan, there are several degrees of the crime of home invasion, and the punishments vary accordingly. A person commits first degree home invasion, when they enter a dwelling without the owner's permission and with the intent to commit a felony, either while the defendant was armed with a dangerous weapon or someone was lawfully present in the dwelling. A person convicted of first degree home invasion can face up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.

Make An Appointment Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Email Us For A Response