What you need to know about Michigan’s driver points system

On Behalf of | Dec 7, 2022 | Criminal Defense

Traffic violations that you are accused of committing in Michigan come with fines and other ramifications. But it may go beyond this, as these violations will also cause you to accrue points on your record. Under the Michigan Vehicle Code, drivers get different point values for different types of infractions.

If you do get points on your record, they are going to stay for the next two years. For instance, you may have one violation that is only worth a single point. But if you have six of those in two years, then you have to go through a driver assessment reexamination. This also happens if you accumulate a total of at least 12 points within two years. As you will see below, some violations are worth much more than one point.

Serious charges

First of all, you have to consider more serious charges, like refusing to take a breath test or fleeing from the police. Another example would be any sort of moving violation that results in the death or serious injury of another individual. Driving under the influence is also included. These types of issues can get six points on your license, so it would only take two violations within two years to reach that 12-point threshold.

Lesser charges

Impaired driving is considered to be a lesser charge that only is worth four points on your record. But you could also get four points for speeding by at least 16 miles an hour over the speed limit or for failing to yield to emergency vehicles. These are all examples of four-point violations, and then there are three point violations like careless driving, running a stop sign, speeding by at least 11 to 15 miles an hour or not stopping for a school bus.

Two-point violations

Michigan also uses a lot of two-point violations, such as speeding from 6 to 10 miles an hour over the limit or having an open container of alcohol in the car with you. But it is important to remember that things can compound so that you are facing multiple charges. For instance, an open container could get you two points, but if it is combined with a drunk driving charge, that is going to be much more severe.

If you are facing charges and you are worried about the points on your record, be sure you know about all of your legal options.

 

Archives

Categories

FindLaw Network