In an ongoing investigation, a 49-year-old Bridgeport Township woman has been jailed while awaiting charges on allegations that she fatally struck and killed a tow truck driver while driving drunk.
A 22-year-old Hartford man faces charges of Moving Violation Causing Death after police said the pickup truck he was driving struck a bicyclist from behind. Though witnesses, including firemen, stopped to offer help, the bicyclist died at the scene. While the current charge is a misdemeanor, the accident is still under investigation and the charge could be upgraded.
Jail time is the maximum penalty for driving offenses, as it pertains to the law. There are less severe consequences if a Michigan resident is convicted of a serious driving offense, like drunk driving, but it depends on whether or not a person is convicted or their specific situation.
Different people will reach or exceed the legal limit for drunk driving differently, so it's easy to see how someone could be pulled over and be charged with DUI. Whether it's your first DUI charge or you have been accused or convicted before, there are ways to build a legitimate criminal defense. Despite the evidence, everyone has a right to seek counsel and build a defense that tells their side of the story. The potential consequences can vary in severity for those who are ultimately convicted of drunk driving charges. Minimizing those consequences, or preventing a specific consequence, like a license suspension, may be goals of someone who is charged with DUI.
In the last decade, a drunk driving law was added to the statutes of Michigan that highlighted a particular category of Operating While Intoxicated offense: the high BAC offense. A high BAC offense is defined as one where the suspected drunk driver has a blood alcohol concentration of .17 grams or more. The state's baseline BAC level for drunk driving charges is .08 grams.
When a woman allegedly struck six separate mailboxes before crashing onto a lawn and coming to rest among some trees, local police were on the case. When she turned out to have a live lizard inside her bra, they were amused. They posted a flippant account of the arrest on the departmental Facebook page.
Michigan law dictates the serious punishments that individuals may face if they are found guilty of DUI and alcohol-based driving charges. This post will generally discuss some of the penalties that they may be required to comply with in the wake of their convictions. But, those readers with case-specific questions are asked to discuss their inquiries with criminal defense attorneys. This post is not intended to provide legal advice.
Many factors can influence the way a person is punished by the court system if they are convicted of a drunk driving crime in Michigan. Particularly, if the individual has prior convictions for drunk driving and the level of their blood alcohol concentration can affect how severely they are punished.
Law enforcement officials are always on the lookout for individuals who they believe are driving while intoxicated. When a person is suspected of driving with alcohol or drugs in their system, the stopping officer generally must find evidence of intoxication to make a drunk or drugged driving arrest. Across the state, there are a variety of impaired driving laws that law enforcement officers may employ to make arrests in cases of suspected drunk driving.
Drunk driving is a legal issue that isn't going anywhere anytime soon. Motorists are often unable to tell whether they are beyond the legal limit, and police officers often overstep their bounds when pulling over and arresting motorists for suspicion of drunk driving. Although a DUI conviction may seem like a relatively minor offense, the truth of the matter is much different. A first time conviction can lead to a six month driver's license suspension (or more for higher BAC levels), up to a year in jail, community service, and fines.