Carrying A Concealed Weapon In Michigan
Were you arrested because the knife in your backpack had a blade four inches long instead of three? Were you charged with a weapons offense because you were transporting a gun in your car without a permit? While such seemingly innocent actions are perfectly legal in many states, Michigan imposes strict penalties. That’s why it is important to engage the help of a skilled defense lawyer right away if you or someone you know has been arrested.
Our lawyers at David G. Moore, Attorney at Law, have handled numerous cases involving carrying a concealed weapon (CCW) in Southwest Michigan. We have more than 10 years of experience defending the rights and freedoms of people just like you. Contact our firm day or night for a no-cost, no-obligation consultation.
Michigan Statutes With Regard To Carrying Concealed Weapons
Michigan state law (MCL 750.226 and 750.227) prohibits individuals from:
- Carrying a firearm or other dangerous weapon (e.g., a pistol or a knife with a blade more than three inches long) with the intent to use it against another person in an unlawful manner
- Carrying a double-edged, nonfolding knife or another dangerous stabbing instrument (with the exception of some hunting knives) that is carried concealed on a person’s body or in his or her vehicle
- Carrying a pistol without a valid license or permit (except on his or her own property), or carrying it in a place and manner that violate the license restrictions
Penalties for these weapons offenses can include up to five years incarceration in state prison and up to $2,500 in fines.
Contact A Criminal Defense Lawyer Defending Against Weapons Charges
To arrange a free, completely confidential consultation about the CCW charges against you, call our Portage office at 269-216-4573 (toll-free). You can also contact us online and a legal professional at our firm will respond within 24 hours.